.

Misdemeanor

A misdemeanor can be classified as a first degree or second degree misdemeanor. The maximum penalties for a second degree misdemeanor are 60 days in jail, 6 months probation and a $500 fine. Generally, the maximum penalties for a first degree misdemeanor are 1 year in jail, 1 year of probation and an $1000 fine. Certain misdemeanors, such as DUIs have additional minimum, statutory penalties. If you have been charged with a misdemeanor, you are facing serious penalties, so call Amber Hill Law today.

Felony

Felonies are classified as third, second or first degree. The maximum penalties for a third degree felony are 5 years in prison, 5 years probation and a $5,000 fine. The maximum penalties for a second degree felony are 15 years prison, 15 years probation and a $10,000 fine. The maximum penalties for a first degree felony are 30 years in prison, 30 years probation and a $10,000 fine. Additionally, certain first degree felonies are punishable by life in prison or punishable by death. Anytime a person is charged with a felony they are subject to prison time and losing their civil rights. Pursuant to Florida’s Criminal Punishment Code, a scoresheet is prepared for any person being charged with a felony. Each felony scores a specific amount of points based on upon a statutory severity ranking, which are determined by the Florida legislature regardless of statutory degree. If you score more than 44 points, you are subject to a minimum term of imprisonment. Any felony charge comes with potentially severe repercussions. Call Amber Hill Law for a free consultation today.